Chef’s Log 24: Eggstraordinary

Let me begin by explaining why an egg that is edible is such a completely new and alien concept for me. On my planet, the flying creatures that could be considered the equivalent of birds on Earth are all mammals and hence do not lay eggs. The only eggs found on my planet are those laid by reptiles and they are far from delicious. So when I discovered that the birds on this planet not only lay eggs, but eggs that can be eaten, well…I think it would be best to summarize my experience of eating an egg for the first time by enumerating the various stages of my reaction:
1. Shock
2. Disbelief
3. Curiosity
4. Apprehension
5. Shock, followed by disbelief at how delicious it is
6. Joy
7. More joy
8. Amusement caused by the fact that several members of the strange race who call themselves ‘vegetarians’ eagerly consume a bird foetus, when in fact that should be considered just as brutal (if not more) as killing an adult animal for food.

And as you can imagine, I have consumed many an egg since then. What never ceases to amaze me is how versatile this one ingredient can be. It can be scrambled, fried, baked, poached, made into an omelette, mixed with vegetables, mixed with meat, turned into an alcoholic drink- surely the entire world would be able to survive on nothing but eggs. And since there are so many different ways to cook it, it would be impossible to tire of it. I have never known any form of food to be so flexible and multifaceted (If anything comes close, it’s the potato, but if it were a contest the egg would definitely win). It truly boggles the mind. I am constantly hearing complaints about how many parts of the planet do not have adequate food supply. The solution is a simple one: just build more chicken farms. 

Leave a Reply

