Chef’s Log 40: Hail Mocambo

Fish Meuniere

Fish Meuniere

Continental food will always hold a special place in my heart. And I am particularly appreciative of restaurants which serve excellent continental food. Mocambo, on the corner of Park Street, Calcutta is one such place. I know I said that I would probably never try fish again, but I was wrong. The ‘Fish Meuniere’-a very French and very difficult to pronounce dish- was simply divine. Fresh, juicy fish slathered in a tangy, creamy sauce with a hint of tartness, topped with a crunchy substance which appeared to be the ubiquitous Bengali ‘alu bhajja’. Oh how my tastebuds spun in rapturous delight. I also sampled the Irish Chateaubriand Beef Steak. I was rather curious as it was to be served with butter garlic sauce- an unusual choice to say the very least. My verdict? It definitely works. The soft tender meat and slightly salty, rich sauce complement each other beautifully. The jacket potatoes which accompanied the dish were also delicious. Continental food fans, please head on straight to this place. You will not be disappointed.

http://www.zomato.com/kolkata/mocambo-park-street

Irish Chateaubriand Beef Steak

Irish Chateaubriand Beef Steak

 

Leave a Reply

