Chef’s Log 45: Curry Leaves-An-Excellent-Taste-In-Your-Mouth

Beef Dry Fry, Chicken Pepper Fry and Appam(s)

Beef Dry Fry, Chicken Pepper Fry and Appam(s)

I admit, I consider the human race to be a rather weak species. If one were to ask my opinion, I would declare without any hesitation that the only reason they thrive now is because of the utter lack of intelligence possessed by Earth’s inferior species (However, I would warn them to keep an eye on the creatures known as dolphins; they could take over any time now). So naturally when I heard of the phenomenon broadly referred to as ‘addiction’ I assumed it was a distinguishing characteristic of a weak species. I was wrong, for I myself fell prey to this affliction. I found myself suffering from withdrawal symptoms which were sometimes so extreme that they resembled symptoms of insanity; all because I was unable to access that most addictive and fulfilling of all substances- the wondrous invention that humans call ‘internet.’ She is a cruel mistress, this internet. But enough about that. I stray from what this is really about. As always, food. I recently had the exciting opportunity to explore a whole new category of food: ‘Kerala’ food. I confess I do not know much about the area from which the food originates, but having tasted its food, I’d say I love it already. The restaurant I visited, aptly titled ‘Curry Leaves,’ specializes in this kind of food. Firstly, I admire their cheekiness. Although beef is not mentioned anywhere on the menu (I’m guessing to avoid offending especially narrow-minded patrons) there is a variety of beef dishes available if desired. I sampled the beef dry fry and the chicken pepper fry with what is apparently a typical (and delicious) accompaniment- the ‘appam.’ Light and fluffy with just the right hint of crispiness, the appam plays a role similar to that of the chappati. Unlike the chappati, however it is porous, which means it soaks in the curry/gravy and really absorbs the flavour. A delightful and inventive variation is the ‘egg appam,’ which is basically an appam with a fried egg attached on top. Mind boggling, I know. The beef and the chicken were both juicy and succulent, and layered with robust flavours that mixed together beautifully. It was overwhelmingly spicy for my palate, nevertheless I thoroughly enjoyed it. I hope to make multiple visits to this place in the future. Oh, and did I mention that the prices are refreshingly reasonable as well? Truly amazing how you can be in Pune and taste Kerala at the same time.
https://www.zomato.com/pune/curry-leaves-baner

Egg Appam (how do they do it?)

Egg Appam (how do they do it?)

Leave a Reply

